New Boating Laws for Florida
Finally! The winter chills we’ve experienced for the past two months are beginning to fade and when they do, we boaters begin to feel the call of the water. It’s time to begin the annual spring ritual of cleaning, polishing, swabbing decks, having our motors serviced and making sure we comply with all state and federal boating regulations.
For 2010, there are a few changes to laws regarding the requirements for operating boats in Florida. Specifically, they are:
Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boating safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
The following operators are exempt:
• A person licensed by the U. S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel.
• A person operating on a private lake or pond.
• An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is at least 18 years old and possesses the required Boating Safety Education Identification Card, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
• An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is exempt from the educational requirements, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
• A non-resident who has in his or her possession proof that he or she has completed a NASBLA-approved boater safety course or equivalency examination from another state.
• A person who is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel, provided they have available for inspection aboard that vessel, a bill of sale meeting all the requirements as established in Chapter 328.46(1), Florida Statutes.
For detailed regulations affecting the operation of your boat, Cannons Marina encourages you to visit the Florida Boating Rules.
Happy boating everyone!